Back in the saddle again, wearing my boots!

I am not sure what I will write about this week, but look, I have already written a whole sentence, so maybe I do have something to say this week.

I had a great time at the Rascal Flatts concert on Saturday night.  I went with my hubby and my youngest daughter.  I think she was surprised how many of the songs she actually knew and I think she had a good time, at least she appeared to have a good time.  I was so happy to finally be able to wear my cowboy boots I got for my birthday last year.  I have been avoiding wearing them to different outdoor concerts lately because I have to wear jeans with them, and jeans are hot,  I can not get away with Daisy Dukes or even Beau Duke shorts, much too old for that, so I have to wear jeans.  So come hell or high water, I was wearing them, and I was brave and wore a sleeveless shirt too, I felt very cowgirly!  Great night and even better company!IMG_5503

This week I was determined not to slack so much about my work outs.  I have walked 3 times in the morning, ran  at my HIIT on Monday did my circuit training on Tuesday and Friday, and Yoga on Wednesday, so I think I am on the good track this week, I didn’t get way laid to the wrong track.  Yea me!   I am going to an event tonight and I won’t get to work out, I am already beating myself up about that, do you think I have a problem? 🙂

I went with to the event with one of my running friends on Thursday night.  We did a run called The Dunn’s run 2 years ago and she got an email inviting us to attend a pre party for the run that will take place in October. That is a photo of me crossing the finish line last time we ran it.  This event was free, we were told there would be food and drinks.  Well boy was there food and drinks!  Every time your drink ran low, there they were filling it back up.  The food was wonderful, bang bang type shrimp, calamari, pasta, and salad.  The weather was not as hot as it has been lately and we sat outside.  It was a great time and to think I was dreading going because I was tired!  Silly me!

IMG_1956I have been maintaining, well at least I feel I have, for most of the week.  I didn’t weigh myself on Monday, I guess I was scared and I shouldn’t be, because once I know a number, up or down I can go from there.  I think the main reason I didn’t want to weigh in had to do with my lack of activity last week.  I didn’t do as much as I normally do, I had no time.  I walked in the morning, one time, at the park once, and I think I ran on Friday and that was it.  I did well eating, for the most part, but as I learned on my hormone reset, I thought I was eating well before, so when I had a full sandwich at our birthday lunch at work today, I knew it was not a good choice, but I ate it anyway. I worry that I say I am eating right and I am really going back to my old ways, and that is why I can’t miss a weigh in, I have to be accountable.  My need for snacking is back so when our lunch finally got here, I was really hungry, so I ate a whole  sandwich instead of the good intended salad with the chicken salad on top. 😦  I have gone back to my cottage cheese and fruit breakfast, but I think it is making me hungry faster, I am going to have to go back to the eggs.  I need to make some time and cook an egg bake so I can grab them on my way out the door. The other thing I am doing different is  eating when I get to work, during the diet, I was told to eat within a half hour of waking, so I wonder if eating so much later in the morning is making me want to snack?  I don’t want to I NEED to snack,it is really bad right now.  I want to be content in my eating habits, I need to find a happy medium.  We all know I was not happy when I was doing the diet, so I need something in between that and normal eating.

When I am in my food and workout obsession stage I have a very bad habit of baking!  I bake things that I can not eat and the rest of the family reaps the rewards.  I don’t know why I do it, but I always do,  I wish I knew why I want to torture myself in that manner…well anyhoo, below is the recipe I found on Pinterest.  What is so great about this recipe;  most of the items you need you have at home so it was super easy just to whip it together!  I hope you enjoy them!!  I promise in the next few weekly blogs I will try and put up healthy recipes, but I can’t guarantee it. 😉

Snickerdoodle Bars

FullSizeRender (4)

Batter

½ cup unsalted melted butter

1 large egg

½ cup sugar

⅓ cup packed light brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup all purpose flour

¼ tsp cream of tartar

¼ tsp of salt

Sprinkling

¼ cup sugar

2 tsp cinnamon

Directions

  1. Batter – preheat oven to 350F.  Line an 8×8 baking pan with foil and spray with cooking spray; set aside
  2. In a large, microwave safe bowl melt the butter, about 1 min on high.
  3. Wait a minute or two before you add the egg, you don’t want the hot butter to scramble it.  Add the egg, sugars, vanilla, and whisk until smooth.
  4. Add the flour, cream of tartar and salt, stir until combined do not over mix.
  5. Pour batter into prepared pan, smoothing the top with a spatula; set aside.
  6. Sprinkling – In a bowl combine the sugar and cinnamon and stir.
  7. Using a small spoon sprinkle sugar mixture over the batter in the pan.  It will seem like a lot and it is, but you can shake of the excess when you serve it if it is too much for you.
  8. Bake for about 25 minutes, insert a toothpick in the middle to make sure the batter is cooked through.  Cool on wire rack for 15 minutes, cut and serve.

That is all I have for this week, tomorrow starts the birthday weekend for my baby, can’t believe she will be 20, blink and they are grown!
Take care of you.

Leave a Reply

